It’s been a while… but! I am back. With a bang? At least a small knock.

My dad posted this – and I watched… went about my business… watched again.

It has validity in a world where a lot of what I read/see/hear is only as valid as the current Wikipedia update.

YET. Yet…

Being some with social anxiety, I find that I am having way more meaningful interactions with people, through the safety of the screen – then I might have otherwise.

The ability to monitor and edit what I say, to check my spelling obsessively, to only portray those points and thoughts in my head that come across the way I would have wanted them to – had I said them aloud… is extremely important to me. I say things that I mean, I express my beliefs, I am willing to be ME, candidly (sorta) without having people watching me.

It is part of what makes my brand of social anxiety – the kind that falls under the spectrum, but lets face it, is unique to me – so easy to shed when I am behind the safety of my four walls.

In highschool – I joked. I knew I was different and quirky and tried (mostly failed) to fit in. I tried to hide my ineptitude behind the books, the few close friends, and my air of “pfft. I don’t give two shits”. All of which was a lie.

I cared. More then I probably should have back then. But I cared. I scrutinized every. single. thing.  What someone said, or didn’t say. The parties I didn’t get invited to. The friendships that seemed to so easily come to everyone else. It caused me to miss out on probably quite a few opportunities, because in my socially anxious mind… it was never simple.

I personally suffer from a (few) handfuls of mental illness issues. The majority of them resulting in me being more comfortable behind my computer screen. But if I didn’t have the ease of social media? I would truly be lonely. I would be alone – without the option of the friends I have made through social media. Does the fact that the majority of the people I know don’t live anywhere close to me, bug me? Sometimes. But the fact remains… I would be way more lonely if I didn’t have them.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. ekgo
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:27:52

    Ah, this is very interesting; thank you for posting the video and your thoughts in regard to said video!
    While I think it has some good hypotheses in regard to society, as a whole, I was ensaddened that it did not address what you’re addressing – while the larger group is undergoing a change, an evolution, there are individuals who benefit greatly from online social interaction. Those individuals are also undergoing an evolution, of course, in that they are finding their comfortable social niches, something that may not have been possible without the internet.
    It seems that each person has a social style that works best for her or him and once that style is found, it should be nurtured. I would hazard that most of us are a mix of personal and online styles with outliers in the online-only social circles as well as the big-party-in-person social circles.
    I would like to see that explored by sociologists and such; there isn’t one right answer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers

