For my dearest friends, you are always in my heart

This is a poem written by my best friend. When she wrote it – I posted it on another site I journal on. It did not seem to get much attention or appreciation. Hopefully you all – whoever you are… will enjoy it.

My Friend

If you call me in the middle of the night I will answer.
If you need me I will come.
I would bail you out of jail, or hide evidence.
I will lie for you, but never to you.
I will stand behind you when you need support and I will stand in front of you when you need a wall.
I will stand up for you even if I do not agree with you.
I will stand for you.
I will hold your hand at funerals and hold your hair at parties and hold your keys when you leave the house without pockets.
I will hold your heart safe when someone breaks it and I will hold you close when you feel alone.
I will fight for you, even when we cannot win. Especially then… because if you fail we fail together.
If I do not see you for twenty years it will feel like yesterday and if I never see you again it will feel like tomorrow.
I will give you all I have to give because when I offered you friendship I knew what it meant and when I said forever I meant forever.

– written by DWallis2011- reprinted with permission from the author.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Karen
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 18:25:32

    Love it

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers

